Abstract Art

Abstract Art is my favorite.

"Influence" by Chidi Okoye

I’m not too good with traditional Art; I have no classical training or patience to try and learn (more on that later). But abstract is perfect for me- I get to do whatever I want.

The internet gave me a definition so I’ll share it with y’all. It’s a definition for children but I think it gets the job done:

“Abstract artists felt that paintings did not have to show only things that were recognizable. In their paintings they did not try to show people, animals, or places exactly as they appeared in the real world. They mainly used color and shape in their paintings to show emotions. Some Abstract art is also called non-objective art. In non-objective art, you do not see specific objects. It is not painted to look like something specific.”

Abstract is awesome because there are no wrong answers. 

I know that a lot of people may disagree but I think for the most part abstract Art is so self-expressive that classical training does not really come in to play and technical aspects are not as scrutinized.

Following this post, I’ll give a brief overview of one of my favorite artists who did a lot in the way of abstract, Wassily Kandinsky.

About unreasonablyreasonable

I like lemon flavored things, popsicles and the car wash. I really like movies. In the future I hope to produce documentaries.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Abstract Art

  1. Sarah says:

    Hey, Maggie…a friend was telling me about MOCA’s “Art in the Streets” (http://www.huffingtonpost.com/bill-bush/art-in-the-streets-at-moc_b_850124.html) and I just figured it might be something you’d be interested in reading about if you haven’t already

Leave a comment